How Many NBA Championships Have the Lakers Won?

Looking at how many championships the Los Angeles Lakers have won in the history of the franchise

When you scour the history of the NBA, there’s no denying that the Los Angeles Lakers are 100 percent synonymous with greatness. Despite how dismal recent years have looked for the franchise, they’re by far one of the most successful teams in the history of the league.

Just looking at the all-time great players that have passed through the Lakers organization and it’s not hard to see how they achieved this level of success. Names like Wilt Chamberlain, Magic Johnson, Kareem Abdul-Jabbar, Shaquille O’Neal, Kobe Bryant, and countless others certainly come to mind in this regard.

What’s crazy is that the Lakers have been a force in the NBA since their inception in 1947 as the Minneapolis Lakers. Of course, that success only continued after the 1960 season when they officially made the move to the west coast and Los Angeles. 

If you’re wondering just how successful the Lakers have been, though, you may be asking how many NBA Championships have the Lakers won in the history of the franchise.

Since 1947, the Lakers have won an incredible 16 NBA Championships over the course of the franchise. They won five titles (1949, 1950, 1952, 1953, and 1954) while in Minneapolis and went on to win 11 after moving to LA (1972, 1980, 1982, 1985, 1987, 1988, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2009, and 2010).

The Lakers’ 16 titles ranks only behind another legendary organization and LA’s biggest rivals in the Boston Celtics as the men in green have 17 championships to their credit. However, the Lakers have 10 more championships than the team in third place on this list, the Chicago Bulls. Moreover, the Lakers dwarf the competition in terms of Finals appearances at 31 with Boston at No. 2 with 21 appearances.

Hopefully the Lakers will be able to get things back on track and back to adding more titles to the franchise’s history sooner rather than later.