Every Los Angeles Lakers legend who has won NBA Finals MVP award

No franchise has more Finals MVP awards than the Los Angeles Lakers. Which Lakers legends were able to take the hardware home?
NBA Finals Game 7:  Boston Celtics v Los Angeles Lakers
NBA Finals Game 7: Boston Celtics v Los Angeles Lakers / Christian Petersen/GettyImages
6 of 8

6. Shaquille O’Neal, 2000, 2001 & 2002

Only five teams in NBA history have won at least three consecutive championships. The Chicago Bulls did it twice during the 1990s, the Boston Celtics won eight straight titles between 1958-59 and 1965-66, and the Minneapolis Lakers achieved the feat between 1951-52 and 1953-54.

The fifth team on that list is the Kobe Bryant and Shaquille O'Neal era Los Angeles Lakers, which won every title between 1999-00 and 2001-02.

O'Neal won every Finals MVP award during that championship window, which is a feat in itself. Only two players, Jordan and LeBron James, have won it more times overall, while only Jordan shares O'Neal's legacy of earning the hardware in three consecutive tries.

O'Neal joined Jordan in that arena by dominating every NBA Finals that he appeared in as a member of the most decorated organization in Association history.

O'Neal decimated the Indiana Pacers, averaging 38.0 points, 16.7 rebounds, 2.3 assists, 2.7 blocks, and 1.0 steal in the 2000 NBA Finals. It stands as one of the greatest individual runs ever, and was followed by his dominance in 2001, averaging 33.0 points, 15.8 rebounds, 4.8 assists, and 3.4 blocks against Dikembe Mutombo and the Philadelphia 76ers.

Capping it off with averages of 36.3 points, 12.3 rebounds, 3.8 assists, and 2.8 blocks in the 2002 NBA Finals against the New Jersey Nets and their repeated triple-teams, the peak of O'Neal's career compares to that of any player to ever grace the sport.