Where are they now? Looking back at the 2020 Lakers championship team

Identifying the rampant roster turnover, which dates back to 2020, when the Lakers championship squad let many players walk despite having won it all.
2020 NBA Finals , Game Six
2020 NBA Finals , Game Six / Mike Ehrmann/GettyImages
2 of 6

3. Kentavious Caldwell-Pope

Kentavious Caldwell-Pope is the only player from that championship team who has won an NBA championship since 2020. After his stint with the Los Angeles Lakers, he joined the Denver Nuggets, where he immediately became a starter and contributor alongside now three-time MVP Nikola Jokic.

After sweeping his former Lakers in this year’s playoffs, Caldwell-Pope and the Nuggets lost in the Western Conference second round to the Minnesota Timberwolves. This past season, Caldwell-Pope averaged 10.1 points per game and shot 40.6 percent from 3-point range. 

4. Alex Caruso

Alex Caruso was one of the players who used the Lakers' limelight and championship run to his advantage when it came to free agency offers in 2021. Following the 2020 championship, Caruso joined the Chicago Bulls.

Although his tenure has not been uber-successful from a winning standpoint, as the Bulls haven’t gotten past the first round of the playoffs in his four seasons with the team, Caruso continues to be a force in the league. He just picked up another All-Defense selection. 

5. Rajon Rondo

Rajon Rondo bounced around the league a little more following his stint with the Lakers. He spent time with the Atlanta Hawks, Los Angeles Clippers, played one more season with the Lakers, and then last played with the Cavaliers in 2022. Rondo announced his retirement back on April 3, putting a cap on a 16-year NBA career.